MINUTES:   Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE:   March 24, 2000

TIME AND PLACE:   1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room, Rutgers Student Center, 126 College Avenue, College Avenue Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT:   G. Adamcik, J. Adamcik, Alm, Axelrod, Balikov, Barone, Bell, Benovitz, Blair, Blasi, Borisovets, Boylan, Bronzan, Burton, Carlson, Charaipotra, Chiaverini, Clinton, J. Cohen, R. Cohen, Connell, Crozier, Davidson, R. Dennis, Deutsch, M. Diamond, Diner, Elias, Fechter, Feighn, Flanagan, Forman, Friedrich, Gary, Goldmark, Golhar, Gross, Haidet, Hall, Hamm, Harris, Haska, Hirsh, James, Janes, Jesse, Joseph, Kelly, Kennedy, Kirschner, Knee, Koehler, Krueckeberg, Kuehn, Lawrence, Li, Lorenzo, Manganaro, Manhoff, Maradonna, Markowitz, Marlys, Marsh, McCloughan, McKay, Medina, Naus, Oren, Panossian, Parker, Perney, Petronko, Pomper, Portella, Prusakowski, Puniello, Rabinowitz, Regulska, Samuels, Sands, Scott, Seneca, Sermarini, Shailor, Simmons, Singer, Spencer, St. John, Szatrowski, Tallau, Tomie, Tripolitis, Wadia, Walker-Andrews, Walsh, A. Watts, Webb, Wilkinson, Winterbauer

EXCUSED:   Bhoj, Carlton, Crew, E. Dennis, Evans, Gaunt, Goodman, Griffith, M. Jackson, Lang, Leath, Leontiades, Mack, Matusz, Miller, Miovech, Narvaez, Padgett, Patel, Roth, Schaper, Smouse, Solomon, Somville, Strom, Van Til, Vodak, Znayenko

ABSENT: Adelson, Advis, Aisenbrey, Augustin, Baptiste, Beck, Boucher, Boulding, Bruner, Bushnell, Caprio, Cheung, Colaizzi, Dembowitz, E. Diamond, Dickson, Edini, Emanetoglu, Engel, Felson, Foley, Gang, Gilchrist, Hartman, Hinch, Hughes, Hyndman, T. Jackson, Jones, Jussim, Kazam, Keating, Klein, Lehman, Massachaele, Matsuda, McCabe, Morrison, Pina, Rothberg, Ruggiero, Scheinbeim, Snyder, Sumner, Tuckman, Vershon, Young

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY:   Faculty: Of 84 total: 44 present (52%), 16 excused (19%), 24 absent (29%)
Students: Of 46 total: 28 present (61%), 4 excused (9%), 14 absent (30%)
Administrators: Of 39 total: 23 present (59%), 8 excused (20.5%), 8 absent (20.5%)
Alumni: Of 5 total: 4 present (80%), 1 absent (20%)
Link to Cumulative Attendance Summary


PRESIDING OFFICER:   Kathleen Scott, Chairperson
Chairperson Scott called the meeting to order and declared that there was a quorum. She reminded the Senate that, although there will be only one more Senate meeting this academic year, everyone should continue working on charges so items not docketed for that meeting can be ready for the first meeting of the 2000-2001 Senate.

SECRETARY’S REPORT: Agenda: The agenda was approved as distributed. Minutes: the Minutes of February 25, 2000 were approved as distributed by the Secretary.

Communications: The following communications, having been distributed and posted on the Senate’s website, were presented and acted upon as noted:

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT:  President Lawrence’s Administrative Report included comments on: Barbara Lee’s appointment as Dean of the School of Management and Labor Relations, effective July 1, 2000; Jay Kohl’s appointment as Rutgers Executive Director for Public Safety; the recent $2.5 million fund to enhance the Center for Metropolitan Studies in Newark; Alan D. Lowenstein’s $2 million gift to the Newark School of Law; the upcoming dance marathon to benefit the Institute for Children with Cancer and Blood Disorders; and his activities during Spring Break, including continuing work with the Kellogg Commission.


Committee on University Governance, Role, Composition and Function of the Senate, Senators Kathleen Scott and Jeffrey Cohen, Co-Chairs: Vice Chair Rabinowitz assumed the chair while Senator Scott summarized her committee’s Proposed Revision of the University Senate Committee Structure, which significantly expanded and clarified standing-committee charges while reducing the number of standing committees. On motion and duly seconded, the Senate approved the proposal, with only one vote against, to be effective next academic year. Senator Wadia offered a vote of thanks for the excellent report.

Educational Policy and Planning Committee, Natalie Borisovets, Chair:

Report and Recommendations on TZ Grade: Senator Borisovets summarized and moved her committee’s report and resolution on the TZ grade. Following considerable discussion, the question was called. The report’s resolution was approved by a vote of 64 in favor, 16 opposed, with 2 abstentions, as follows:

Be it resolved that the TZ grade be redefined, and all germane University publications/communications be changed to accurately reflect that: The TZ grade should only be assigned when a student is unable to finish his/her course work due to a verifiable emergency situation. The student and faculty member should endeavor to reach an agreement as soon as possible as to how the course should be completed. The TZ will have no immediate effect on a student’s GPA; however, if the situation is not resolved within the following semester, the TZ will convert to an F, and the GPA will be recalculated accordingly.
Be it further resolved that: Where no grade is assigned on the final grade roster by the faculty member, the Registrar shall assign a NG (No Grade Given). The NG will have no immediate effect on a student’s GPA; however, if the situation is not resolved within the following semester, the NG will convert to an F, and the GPA will be recalculated accordingly.
Senator Hall requested that next year’s counterpart to the Educational Planning and Policy Committee consider changing the one-semester time limit to at least two semesters. Chairperson Scott said the Executive Committee will discuss that.

Report and Recommendations on School of Business Access and Admissions: Senator Borisovets summarized and moved her committee’s report and resolution on School of Business access and admissions. Following discussion, Senator Diner moved to change the resolution to endorse the concept of direct admissions to undergraduate business programs rather than to the School of Business. Senator Borisovets accepted the change on behalf of the committee. Following further discussion, the question was called. The report’s resolution was approved by a vote of 60 in favor, 3 opposed, with 3 abstentions, as follows:

Be it resolved that the University Senate endorses the concept of direct admissions to the undergraduate business programs, with admissions being predicated on acceptance into one of the undergraduate collegial units. NEW BUSINESS:  Senator Markowitz’s motion to praise and support the women’s basketball team was seconded and approved.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT:  Vice Chair Rabinowitz reported on the March 10, 2000 Executive Committee meeting. Draft minutes of the March 10 meeting had been posted on the Senate website.

REPORT OF CAMPUS FACULTY LIAISONS:  Senator Walker-Andrews, chair of the New Brunswick Faculty Council, reported on the continuing NBFC activities, including: anticipated committee reports, consideration of the University harassment policy, Executive Cabinet meetings with Dr. Caprio on asynchronous learning contracts, CEFAR2, and efforts to establish a "Governance" link on Rutgers’ homepage.

ADJOURNMENT:  There being no further business before the University Senate, Chairperson Scott declared the meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

Kenneth Swalagin
Secretary of the University Senate